idoneapps

Author Topic: No GSM/UTMS  (Read 5227 times)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
No GSM/UTMS
« on: March 17, 2018, 01:54:12 PM »
I have unlocked (GSM option) and debranding my Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5 LTE SM-T807P running rooted MM 6.0.1, successfully.
My local carriers use LTE bands not supported in the SM-T807P (B2 and B4) so it is not a problem for me to use mobile data in GSM mode.
My problem is that I do not have the option to select "GSM/UTMS" or "Automatic" under More networks > Mobile Networks > Network mode as seen in the instructions. I can only choose between "LTE" and "LTE/CDMA"
I have tried to enter GCF Settings and perform the steps:

[2]UE Setting & Info
[1]Setting
[1]Protocol
[2]NAS
[1]Network Control
[4]BAND SELECTION
WCDMA Band Preference
WCDMA ALL
Reboot

as seens on "*Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type" topic, but nothing changes.
I also re-executed the unlock, re-applied the GCF Setting and restart but without success.

I am forgetting to execute some step to be able to use the band GSM/UTMS?

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2018, 10:31:48 AM »
Any help would be appreciated

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2018, 11:04:26 AM »
I have tried the GCF settings for Note3, Note4/Edge, S5, and S5 variants step, with no success.
Still without GSM/UTMS option to connect...

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2018, 08:48:26 AM »
Is your device on a stock rooted ROM or a custom ROM?
See you ;-)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2018, 11:45:22 AM »
Nice question for a newbie like me!
This is my first root in my life since I have experience only in jailbreaks and this is my first Android device.

The tablet is pre-owned so I have done a Factory Reset (Android 5), then a System Update (Android 6) then I have flashed the file "CF-Auto-Root-chagallltespr-chagallltespr-smt807p.tar.md5" with Odin 3.

That's all, no other flash task nor modifications before running unlock/GFC Settings in idoneapps app

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2018, 12:24:31 PM »
See you ;-)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2018, 03:40:28 AM »
The provided SPRINT stock ROM was flashed without problems.
And all my settings were saved (desktop, applications, APNs, etc)
Debranding was retained.
The OTA updates are working (nothing to update but the check is OK).
"Set Warranty Bit: kernel" at the start up is gone.
Thank you for this!

In the other side, now, in the Android notifications, I see that there is a message that says "Checking device status" (Samsung DM Service).
Despite all this, I can not make my chip work in UTMS/GSM bands.
Option still are LTE/CDMA or CDMA under network options (no GSM/UTMS/LTE options).

I can see this in the idoneapps app:

Operator: No Service | MMC 310 | MNC 120
Radio Type: NONE | Network Type: UNKNOWN
SIM STATE: READY
Root Status: Phone is not rooted

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2018, 03:57:53 AM »
"Checking device status" Means Hands Free Activation is working in the background, you can disable that by rooting the device and using our app debranding option (rooting the device will cause the message "Set Warranty Bit: kernel" to shows again, that's just a warning to let you know you're running a modified ROM).

About the "No service problem" make sure your IMEI is not blacklisted:
https://ting.com/byod

If it's not blacklisted then try again this to enable GSM:
https://idoneapps.com/forum/index.php?topic=14.0

Then do this:
dial ##3282#
tap on Edit
Enter the MSL our app retrieved
Tap on MORE
Tap on HDR/1X Selection
Tap on "Global Mode"
Phone should ask you to power cycle, please do that.

After that, since you want to use GSM make sure GCF Settings are ON:
https://idoneapps.com/settings.php

Let us know.

NOTE: GCF Settings ON cause CDMA SIMs to not work, so if you're testing a CDMA SIM (like Sprint) GCF Settings have to be OFF.
See you ;-)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2018, 10:10:10 AM »
IMEI is not blacklisted (it was checked before buying your app but now re checked with status OK: Great news!
Your phone is compatible with Ting.)

The second step after rooting, always is set GCF Settings to ON since all my local carriers bands are LTE/HSDPA/UMTS (no CDMA bands at all).

Related to steps suggested starting at "dial ##3282#" It was done through your app (right menu > IOTHiddenMenu).
It is already set to Global Mode under HDR/1X Selection option.

I could see the "Hands Free Activation" (5 attempts) when no rooted and I could find here that by deactivating or deleting carrier apps it should be fixed. I deleted the carrier apps through the Debranding option (Delete Apps) and it was fixed, but, when I back to stock ROM, this message is present and I can't run the Debranding service. It seems that backing to stock ROM is getting the carrier apps again and there is not option to remove it without root.
It's a loop. Root to remove carriers apps requesting activation but back to stock ROM generate activation request. I can't imagine how to get this fixed...
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 10:12:07 AM by androideuy »

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2018, 10:14:30 AM »
When using the debranding menu you can disable/remove the carrier apps but if you install a stock ROM again then those app will be reinstalled (those are inside the stock ROM), so you have to disable/remove them again.

The one that stays debranded is the boot logo.
See you ;-)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2018, 11:22:41 AM »
OK I can understand that.
Is there some way to disable/delete these carrier/system apps without rooting the stock OEM like is done from the butons in the Debranding option included in your app?

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2018, 11:29:41 AM »
No, root is needed for that.
See you ;-)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2018, 12:00:37 PM »
Then I have the exact steps and 2 questions:

1) Starting on stock ROM
2) Root (some recommended link to do it differently from how I did it last time?)
3) Unlock and debrand
4) Unroot (how to do it to mantain unlock and debrand?)

PS: there is not directions for SM-T807P running 6.0.1 under "Support » Root & Unlock your phone » Marshmallow (Android 6)"
« Last Edit: March 22, 2018, 12:05:04 PM by androideuy »

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2018, 12:35:48 PM »
I'll answer below:

1) OK
2) Not actually
3) OK
4) This is not required/suggested if you want to keep your device debranded,

About your PS: No, your device should fit to one of those directions, it's one or the other, follow the one that fits.
See you ;-)

Offline androideuy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: No GSM/UTMS
« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2018, 10:49:48 PM »
I think I know which is the problem...

I have flashed stock ROM > root > Debranding + Unlock.
I bought 2 pre-paid SIMs for 2 others carriers (CLARO and MOVISTAR) plus my current contractual one (ANTEL).
None of the 3 SIMs have worked in any of its 3 bands: GSM, HSDPA nor LTE.
LTE is OK that it doesn't work since the bands 2 and 4 (used by the 3 carriers) are not supported on the SM-T807P:

https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_tab_s_10_5_lte-6235.php

Then I can't use LTE with my local carriers. That's OK, no problem.


Well, when I'm in IOTHiddenMenu > ##DATA# Menu >  HDR/1X Selection, I have only this options:

1) Hybrid
2) CDMA Only
3) EVDO Only
4) EHRDP 1x
5) Global
6) LTE + CDMA + EVDO
7) LTE only

Then, I can see that there is not WCDMA support on my SM-T807P!
And now I can understand why is not possible to set and save WCDMA by:

**GCF SETTING**
[2]UE Setting & Info
[1]Setting
[1]Protocol
[2]NAS
[1]Network Control
[4]BAND SELECTION
     WCDMA Band Preference
     WCDMA ALL

nor by

**RADIO SETTINGS** > Set preferred network type

You can touch the WCDMA related options but the option is not being set.
It is being set only if it is a LTE or CDMA option related.

Conclusion:
My SM-T807P is only taking LTE & CDMA , not WCDMA.
I don't why but I will be researching about if it is a restriction on the SPRINT ROM.
I have not answers for this behavior...
« Last Edit: March 23, 2018, 10:55:20 PM by androideuy »