idoneapps

Author Topic: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.  (Read 14092 times)

Offline idone

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
*Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« on: September 13, 2015, 08:24:34 PM »
If you experience a red "x" next to your signal bars after unlocking:

1.) Make sure you are using a SIM with an active plan.

2.) Make sure you set GCF Setting to:
a. "ON" in order to use a GSM SIM (e.g. like AT&T or T-Mobile).
b. "OFF" in order to use a CDMA SIM (e.g. like Verizon or Sprint).
https://idoneapps.com/settings.php for instructions.

3.) Make sure you set the Network Type in Settings > Mobile Networks > Network Mode changing it to:
a. "GSM/UMTS" or "GSM/WCDMA auto" in order to use a GSM SIM (*1) (e.g. like AT&T or T-Mobile).
b. "LTE/CDMA" in order to use a CDMA SIM (e.g. like Verizon or Sprint).

4.) If you live in the United States or Brazil please check your device IMEI using the links below.
If your phone is unlocked but it has an outstanding balance to be paid then you can try an AT&T or Cricket SIM, they very often don’t block blacklisted/financed IMEI, so you can use the unlocked phone even domestically (by the way it’s not guaranteed that AT&T and Cricket allow your IMEI to be used on their network, you have to try).
https://ting.com/byod
https://swappa.com/esn

If any are showing "financed" or "blacklisted/blocked" you will be needing and "IMEI Repair" to be able to use US GSM providers. If you only need the device for GSM outside the US you don't need to worry about bad ESN/IMEI issues.

5.) Dial *#0011#
You should see "IMEI Cert Pass" and also "Network Unblock"

===============================================================================================

NOTES

(*1): When selecting GSM/UMTS you will be prompted to select Automatic or Manual, choose Automatic first, if you still get no service the select Manual and choose your network from the list (this may take a few minutes).

« Last Edit: October 31, 2018, 12:01:49 PM by Nodial »

Offline phensley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2015, 08:10:30 PM »
Hi I followed all of the steps you posted and everything came back like the instructions said it should but I am still showing the red x and no signal bars

Offline idone

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2015, 02:28:18 PM »
Hi I followed all of the steps you posted and everything came back like the instructions said it should but I am still showing the red x and no signal bars

Oh sorry I missed replying to this earlier, did we get you sorted out over email though I do believe?

Regards,
idone

Offline noob44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2015, 12:10:25 AM »
I am hitting the same issue with a Sprint Note 4 that I want to use on TMobile. After unlock, I can see that the Sprint Welcome Screen went away. I also get the option for GSM/UMTS in network selection. But on selecting it and rebooting, the red X appears next to signal bars.

 If I switch the network selection back to CDMA etc., the red cross goes away but trying to dial I get message that your account could not be validated (which is, I think, expected since I do not hav Sprint service on this anymore).

I have verified each and everything in this thread including checking the IMEI at all 3 different websites. The TMobile SIM I am using works just fine on a TMobile phone.

What are the next steps to take?

Offline noob44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2015, 01:04:14 AM »
Figured it out - had not changed settings per https://idoneapps.com/settings.php

Works great now - thanks folks.

Offline idone

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2015, 01:04:45 PM »
Figured it out - had not changed settings per https://idoneapps.com/settings.php

Works great now - thanks folks.

Great to hear :D

Offline DLJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2015, 01:26:01 PM »
I was having an issue with my G900P after idone Sprint global unlock where I was always dropping from HSPA/HSPA+ to Edge and then completely losing signal altogether. I was getting signal, just couldn't keep it. I was trying to enable settings in hidden menu (like WCDMA only) but would always lose connectivity.

Finally I just said screw it and re-locked it (##SCRTN#) factory reset, re-unlocked, re-flashed MOAR 7.0 and kept getting "checking device status" DM service notification; I would close it down and it would keep popping back up. So I downloaded an app (Bloatware Freezer) and froze the Samsung DM service more out of annoyance than trying to fix the issue and - POOF, no more dropping signal. As a side note, I ran all the debranding tools when I unlocked it on 0G1 and still had connectivity issues.

Maybe this is a known issue I dunno, but if youre still having issues with connectivity after trying the steps mentioned in the posts above, try freezing the "Samsung DM service" and see if that doesn't fix it. I mean don't go crazy and relock and reflash; Just freeze Samsung DM service.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2015, 01:40:17 PM by DLJ »

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 857
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2015, 05:51:50 PM »
Hi DLJ, thanks for the suggestion!
See you ;-)

Offline xenergiser2004X

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2015, 01:15:28 PM »
How do i get imei repair

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 857
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #9 on: December 28, 2015, 04:54:36 AM »
How do i get imei repair

We now collaborate with an associate that can do IMEI repair remotely.
Contact us by email or using our Contact Us page if you're interested.
See you ;-)

Offline Youdoofus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2016, 11:09:17 AM »
So, i went to activate my G900P with a straight talk AT&T sim, and it finds the AT&T and TMOB networks, and i select AT&T, it says "registering on network" for several minutes and then that window disappears and goes back to the operator selections and the red x persists. I have done the GCF settings several times to ensure that it took, so i am at a loss

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 857
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2016, 11:14:51 AM »
Hi, please check the first post and assure that your IMEI isn't blacklisted, and also dial *#0011# and check that you jave "IMEI Cert Pass" and also "Network Unblocking".
See you ;-)

Offline Youdoofus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #12 on: April 01, 2016, 11:19:33 AM »
i did check that, both are good to go

Offline Youdoofus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2016, 11:21:04 AM »
there are 3 lines

"No Service
NETWORK: UNBLOCK
IMEI Certi: PASS"

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 857
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Info* Red "x" next to signal bars after unlocking.
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2016, 11:56:22 AM »
What you get when you check your IMEI here?
https://my.ringplus.net/device_validation_requests/new

Also, have you set the Network Type/Mode to GSM/UMTS?
See you ;-)