idoneapps

Author Topic: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type  (Read 5546 times)

Offline idone

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
*Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« on: September 13, 2015, 07:29:13 PM »
After unlock on some devices you may notice the "Network Mode/Type" option is missing "GSM/UMTS" or that Network Mode is missing!!

Well someone has most likely either tried, or was successful at flashing this device to another CDMA provider in the past.

To fix this and get the Network Mode settings back launch ServiceMode Menu with "GCF Setting" button.

Then for new phones (newer than the S4) select the following

Code: [Select]
[2]UE Setting & Info
[1]Setting
[1]Protocol
[2]NAS
[1]Network Control
[4]BAND SELECTION
Then, if your phone have these options select these:
WCDMA Band Preference
WCDMA ALL
Else select these:
[6]--Select all bands
[7]--Apply band configuration

Reboot after and go check your network settings menu.


For the old phones (S4 and Mega) select the following

Code: [Select]
UMTS>
DEBUG SCREEN>
PHONE CONTROL>
NETWORK CONTROL>
BAND SELECTION>
WCDMA Band Preference>


Reboot after and go check your network settings menu.

Once done please go to Settings > Mobile Networks > Network Mode > select GSM/WCDMA auto (there won’t be GSM/UMTS on all unlocked network modes list).
« Last Edit: May 14, 2017, 09:51:25 AM by Nodial »

Offline pcw330

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 12:02:35 PM »
I tried that and still have no gsm option.

Offline idone

  • Administrator
  • Jr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2015, 01:04:13 PM »
I tried that and still have no gsm option.

Please make sure to reboot after setting it to WCDMA all.

Let me know if it is still not showing for you.

Offline insanecain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2016, 07:43:01 PM »
You may try going into ##DATA#/Edit (if sprint), then MORE, then HDR/1X Selection.   Should see the option you need here :)

Offline GaryFunk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2016, 03:17:28 AM »
I can't get GSM/UMTS to show.

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2016, 03:30:06 AM »
Hi GaryFunk,

if you used our app you should have your phone MSL (it's in our ap first screen after the unlock), try the solution of insanecain:

Dial ##DATA# (each letter correspond to a number, so dial ##3282#),
then tap EDIT,
then input your phone MSL
then tap MORE,
then tap HDR/1X Selection.
if GSM/UMTS isn't in the list then select GLOBAL and tap OK.
Reboot.

Let us know.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 04:31:31 AM by Nodial »
See you ;-)

Offline GaryFunk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2016, 10:07:37 AM »
When I dial ##3282# I get the message:

Connection problem or invalid MMI code.


Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2016, 10:19:55 AM »
Hmmm,
maybe  your phone settings has been modified badly?
Are you running a custom rom?

Can you dial:
##72786#
After 2 reboot retry to dial ##3282#

I found this article on Google, try this if the above suggestion doesn't help:
http://www.technobezz.com/fix-connection-problem-invalid-mmi-code/

Let us know.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 10:24:17 AM by Nodial »
See you ;-)

Offline GaryFunk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2016, 10:29:58 AM »
I am running the OK2 ROM which I downloaded from the link on this forum.

##72786# gives me the same message.  I also see that I have "Network Mode" listed twice under Mobile networks.  The bottom listing only has 4 options and seems to be the one that sets it.

EDIT:  I used GT to preform the edit.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 10:36:10 AM by GaryFunk »

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2016, 10:36:56 AM »
Ok, if you now have 2 "Network Mode" then select GSM/UMTS on both.

For the other issue as suggested in the article try to dial ##3282#,
a comma right after the code may solve the problem.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 10:38:42 AM by Nodial »
See you ;-)

Offline GaryFunk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #10 on: January 09, 2016, 10:54:21 AM »
The options are:

LTE/WCDMA/GSM (auto connect)
WCDMA/GSM (auto connect)
WCDMA only
GSM only

I've tried every method and still getting the error message.

The phone knows it's on T-Moblie but just won't get a phone number.

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2016, 10:57:05 AM »
Hmmm, there must be some weird factory settings,

try NV REBUILD:

Press GCF Setting Button.
Tap these options in the following order:
UE Setting & Info >
Setting >
System >
NV Rebuild >
ALL

Manually reboot after that (this will lock your phone back, unlock it again after the reboot).
See you ;-)

Offline GaryFunk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #12 on: January 09, 2016, 10:59:28 AM »
Color me silly,

Even though it doesn't show the phone number, it can make and receive phone calls. I'm going to do some more testing.


Under General -> About Device -> Status

It shows the phone number is 0

BUT it's working.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 11:03:21 AM by GaryFunk »

Offline Nodial

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 695
    • View Profile
    • idone.apps
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #13 on: January 09, 2016, 11:06:32 AM »
I would reset that phone, surely some weird setting is bad.
Save all your data then try a factory reset.

do a NV Rebuild too, that won't be bad at all too, then unlock your phone again.
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 11:08:07 AM by Nodial »
See you ;-)

Offline GaryFunk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: *Fix* GSM/UMTS Missing from Network Mode/Type
« Reply #14 on: January 09, 2016, 01:37:38 PM »
I reflashed theOK2 ROM three times and wiped between each flash.  It still wont show the phone number in Status but it's working well.

Now.... any chance of getting this working with a Project Fi SIM?  The phone works to call and message but there is no mobile data.

Thanks for your help.

Gary
« Last Edit: January 09, 2016, 04:37:14 PM by GaryFunk »